Skip to main content

Fire Services in Victoria

Reforming Victoria’s Fire Services

Our current fire services arrangements have their origins in the 1890s and have remained largely unchanged for 60 years.

The bravery, skill and dedication of our firefighters, whether career or volunteer, keep Victorian communities safe.

But firefighters are let down by outdated management and governance structures that can’t keep up with Victoria’s rapid growth and evolution.

Country Fire Authority (CFA) serves rural, regional and urban areas with a network of 1,220 community-based volunteer brigades, including 35 integrated stations staffed by career firefighters and volunteers.

Metropolitan Fire Brigade (MFB) has career firefighters at 47 stations across Melbourne.

A new organisation – Fire Rescue Victoria – will bring together MFB and CFA career firefighters to serve metropolitan Melbourne and major regional centres. Victoria’s 1,220 CFA volunteer brigades will be strengthened and supported to serve and protect their communities as they always have.

In support of these reforms, the Firefighters’ Presumptive Rights Compensation and Fire Services Legislation Amendment (Reform) Bill 2017 was introduced to Parliament on 24 May 2017.

On 21 June an eight member Select Committee was appointed to inquire into, consider and report on the proposed Bill. All public, agency and government submissions were due by 7 July and were to be guided by the inquiry’s Terms of Reference.

The Select Committee is presently conducting public meetings with community and agency representatives throughout the state, with a final report due no later than 8 August 2017.

An evolving Victoria

Victoria’s population centres are rapidly changing, growing and increasing in density. This means demands on our fire services are also changing.


Regional station transformation

In regional Victoria, integrated CFA stations will transition to FRV to better meet today’s emergency challenges into the future.

Simply click on the region in the map or table below to access further information.


Region Districts Transitioning integrated stations
North East 12, 13, 22, 23, 24 Shepparton , Wangaratta , Wodonga
South East 08, 09, 10, 11, 27 Morwell , Traralgon
North West 02, 14, 18, 20 Bendigo , Mildura
South West 04, 05, 06, 07 Portland , Warrnambool
West 15, 16, 17 Ballarat City

How can I find out more?

The reforms set out in the Fire Services Statement are the most extensive since the 1950s and will provide an opportunity for engagement with firefighters and brigades across Victoria.

Information and engagement sessions have been taking place throughout Victoria since 19 May 2017, including at CFA district level as well as with volunteers and staff at the 35 integrated stations.

Firefighter and support staff representative bodies will have the opportunity to engage on the transition. Operational implementation will continue to be overseen by the Fire Services Operational Implementation Committee led by Mr Greg Mullins AFSM, former Commissioner Fire and Rescue NSW.